Hungarian Artists Worth Watching – Zagabo

I have a reason to be happy when it’s raining. Zagabo, the Hungarian design brand, has been making this fantastic raincoat since its founding three years ago. That’s when I bought the hot pink version…

Gabi Szabó (somehow this became Zagabo) is the creative force behind the brand, which features everyday clothing in comfortable fabrics, spiced up with vibrant colors, unusual details and fun patterns. The colors are what drew me in, and indeed, I get lots of smiles when I wear hot pink on a rainy day in Budapest.

“It bugged me that people think you have to wear black and beige to be elegant,” Gabi told me. “I long for bold colors and have found that other women do, too.”

Zagabo’s new summer collection is all cotton, for comfort during Budapest’s heat waves, but also feature colors and contrasts, including stripes that just sing of summer. Here’s a fun summer outfit (right) with a bit of the stripes.

Zagabo has a maternity collection, too, and one comment on the brand’s Facebook site says it’s so gorgeous it’ll make you want to be pregnant. So watch out, ladies.

Zagabo, i.e. Gabi, makes her collections continuously available, so even if you like something from prior years, or from the maternity collection created in 2010, you can still order it. She says this is a popular element of her design concept – meaning, her things never go out of style!

You can find Zagabo online at www.zagabo.com, in English, and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/#!/zagabo. For a personal look at these lovely creations, visit her showroom at Százados u. 3, near the Aréna Pláza mall and the stadium, or find her at the WAMP design fair http://wamp.hu/en along with my favorite jewelry designer, Vadjutka www.vadjutka.hu.

I sure hope it rains soon!

 

About adriknows

One day, people looking for tips on life in Budapest started coming to me. Friends, then friends of friends, and so on. People were telling newcomers and longtime Budapesters alike, “Adri knows!” Now it’s time to share what I’ve picked up over more than a decade of fun-and-frequently-frazzled family life in the big BP.
This entry was posted in Beyond Budapest, Cultural Quirks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment